Create your free account now! Sign up

Re: Davis Beacon Act

llowman.. Most of the information you have provided is correct and accurate info I would like to add a little info. I am a federal contractor as well as a prime contractor for several mso’s . This is an issue that will be effecting a lot of fiber build projects over the next three years. And I know of several projects that are ongoing that are not in compliance. The government has provided loans and grants for the upgrade and expansion of cable and telephone networks across the country they range from a few hundred thousand dollars to 30 and 40 million dollar grants and loans and more.

To find out who is getting these grants you can go to the governments broadband web site for more info. I am a prime on one such project. The Davis Bacon act states that any project that is federally funded through a loan or grant or insured through the federal government must pay prevailing wage to all employees preforming work at the (site of work) where the actual construction takes place. Also this payroll MUST be made WEEKLY not thirty days out not production not bi weekly. Also you cannot make deductions from this payroll for retain age, tools or other deductions such deductions are in violation of the anti-kickback laws and can result in criminal charges.

This is a big change for our industry (being paid on time and not getting screwed). As an employer or prime contractor you are required to do a certified payroll report to the federal government weekly reporting all payroll for each employee associated with the project and site of work. If an employee works of the site of work and other projects they must be broken out on the report.