Create your free account now! Sign up

Re: There is a way to change things - for everyone

I worked as in house tech directly for time warner and charter as well as being a sub. There is definately a night and day difference between the two.

As an in house tech I had 3 interviews, had to take a pysch test, iq test, as well as a full body physical agilities test complete with back x-rays, and vision, the whole nine yards. You need to have a clean driving record (0 points). Most of the in house guys I worked with were all young, clean cut, had some college or were going to school. They have ambition and are working for a career. They come from middle class backgrounds.

As a sub you don't even get an interview, they'll literally hire anyone off the street as long as you have a psuedo clean background. Hell I met so many guys who were working with fake papers, although the mso is finally cracking down on that. I also met a few guys who had felonies but I guess since it was 7 years ago its ok? Most subs are older guys who come from construction type backgrounds who have done grunt labor. they have no real skill. they drive 20 year old beat up minivans and trucks and theyre just trying to put food on the table for their families. I have nothing personal against them. MSOs know theres a high turn around rate and theres a hundred guys in line for your job.