Create your free account now! Sign up

Re: Something to consider

I was a tech with Bruister up until last year when I was fired along with some others for union organizing. We were not try to form a union to have anything handed too us on any kind of platter, not even a cold paper plate. We worked our butts off for what we made and were more than willing to do the job. Our company brought in company owned vehicles (COV's) claiming it was at the direction of DTV, which it may have been, but it wasn't so much the the introduction of the vehicle that upset everyone it was what came along with them. Along with the vehicles came a low hourly pay scale for those behind the wheel. Not finding many takers from the ranks of the piece rate personally owned vehicle drivers (POV's), the company brought in the Micky D's rejects at $10 per hour. Competion rates dropped, repeat service calls rates rose and turnover rates went through the roof. The POV techs weren't getting near the same number of installs they were prior to the introduction of the COV's, but they were getting two or three times the number of service calls, the majority of which were to correct poor installs done by the COV techs (which we lovingly referred to as the "f*ckin' new guys" or FNG's). By unionizing we didn't hope to gain anything we didn't already have, we were just hoping to prevent anything from getting worse and to set up a system (created by the techs) to make it easier to track and report poor workmanship so that we could get rid of the hacks. I reported a number of hack jobs I encountered while dojng service calls and nothing was ever done about them. For example I did at least six service calls in a one month period all on one techs jobs and all within two weeks of his original visit. This tech was not one of the FNG's but one who had been in the business for a while. The issues with his installs were stupid things like putting a 3x4 multiswitch on a Phase III triplesat dish, not running a secon