Create your free account now! Sign up

Re: Whats happening to our business

Maybe someone could explain something to a newcomer(under ten years in the feild)--why hasn't this happened already? It seems to me with all the complaints posted here that the possibility of a union is long overdue. Coming from a union job myself and can attest to the merits of a union. But it seems like every time union is whispered (you don't DARE say the word out loud) people cringe and say hush. What's up with that? The pay evens out, usually to our benefit, insurance is all of a sudden a possibility, JOB SECURITY, I just don't understand why not. Maybe some of you oldtimers out there can explain some of the cons to me. Thanks.(beerchug)

> I help run a good size company. If it's cable, we do it. I run everything having to do with installs and service. I was an installer for another contractor a few years ago, so I've seen a few points of view. I do everything from getting the contract, analyzing the cost, determining the pay scale, and hiring my guys.
> I compete against other companies in my area for work, and only have one thing to say about it; What The Hell!
>
> I pay my guys 25% more than any of my competitors, I train them well, they do great work, we have a perfect QC record going on four months now, and a fleet of professional vans.
>
> All I hear from the operators we manage to squeeze a drop of work out of is how horrible the other contractors (the ones their giving all the work to) are at their job. They bitch about the number of trouble calls, the qc's, the quality of their vehicles, and their business practices.