Create your free account now! Sign up

Wow DTV has changed!

This will be a little lengthy but I will try to be to the point.

I was a tech with Brewster and Assoc, for quite sometime in New Orleans. I had quit about 6 months prior to Katrina (everybody who lived in south LA or MS life will forever be divided into post and pre-Katrina) when they were going from 60/25 installs to about $13.00/hr with a van. (I know many of you remember) After Katrina I did a little cable/DSS work then changed careers and no longer called Louisiana home, BUT...
I have been back in NOLA (New Orleans, LA) to help some friends and family who have stayed, I was surprised to see that Brewster was now doing much of their work through the use of contractors. For the last 6 mos or so I have been doing installs again for B&A (Brewster and Assoc), and I would like to inform everyone of why I will again be leaving this field and hopefully for good this time.

Before we made $135/4 box install + all supplies were provided + they provided insurance + they paid their half of Social Security Insurance about 7.5%. Now we make about $115 for the same install, but we pay for all supplies + we pay for our own insurance + we pay the full 15% self-employment taxes. On average we are talking about a $50-$65/install less, but consider this they are paying more because the contractor takes his share. So they are paying more and we are getting less, and the install suck worse than any I have ever seen.